The bill on the advertising tax credit will be heard in committee of the Assembly


Assembly Bill 762, which would give small businesses a tax credit for advertising in local media, will be presented to the Wisconsin Assembly Ways and Means Committee at 12:30 p.m. on Wednesday, January 19. . The public hearing will be held in Room 225 Northwest of the State Capitol.

The following industry representatives will testify on behalf of the bill for the WNA: Richard Lee, Inter-County Cooperative Publishing Association, mike hollihan, Multimedia channels, President WNA Gregg Walker, the (Minoca) lake time, and WNA Executive Director Beth Bennett.

The Rebuild Local News coalition supports the legislation and encourages its Wisconsin members to actively work for the passage of the bill.

WNA members are strongly encouraged to call members of the Ways and Means Committee and ask them to support the passage of Assembly Bill 762.

Ways and Means Committee

Bipartisan Legislative Support

Additional co-sponsors for AB 762 are needed. Please contact your State Representative and State Senator and ask that he/she support the legislation.

To date, AB 762 has received bipartisan support, with 15 lawmakers signing up as co-sponsors. They include Reps. David Armstrong (R-Rice Lake), Sue Conley (D-Janesville), James Edming (R-Glen Flora), Tony Kurtz (R-Wonewoc), William Penterman (R-Columbus), Jessie Rodriguez (R -Oak Creek), Patrick Snyder (R-Schofield), John Spiros (R-Marshfield), David Steffen (R-Green Bay), Rob Swearingen (R-Rhinelander), Paul Tittl (R – Manitowoc), Travis Tranel (R -Cuba City) and Ron Tusler (R-Harrison), as well as the Sens. Brad Pffaf (D-Onalaska) and Patrick Testin (R-Stevens Point).

Support for professional associations

The bill has won support from several state trade associations, including Wisconsin Community Papers, Wisconsin Broadcasters Association, Wisconsin Bankers Association, Wisconsin Chiropractic Association, Wisconsin Dental Association, Wisconsin Grocers Association, Wisconsin Independent Businesses, Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association, Wisconsin Restaurant Association and the Tavern League of Wisconsin.


Comments are closed.